Buying guide · Prices checked on 1 November 2026
Dog and cat GPS comparison: what is the real cost over 1, 3 and 5 years?
Phoenix, Weenect, Tractive, Invoxia or PAJ: the right choice depends on your animal’s size, where it goes out and what you want to track. Here are the costs to expect and the differences that matter before you buy.
Who publishes this comparison?
Bixar, which sells the Phoenix GPS. We have not tested any of the competing products: their figures come from their official pages, cited at the bottom of the page with the date they were checked. Phoenix’s weak points are stated just like those of the others. This is a desk-based comparison, not an independent field test.
Start with your need
Finding an animal that wanders off
You need a cellular GPS, an active service and coverage suited to your outings. All five solutions offer remote tracking, but only with the corresponding plan: Max GPS at Invoxia, in particular.
Planning your budget over several years
Compare the hardware and all service payments. A price advertised “per month” may be billed for two or five years in a single payment. The annual table and the simulator show both readings.
Monitoring its health
A health record keeps your documents; a sensor measures certain data; an alert flags a change. These are three different services. Invoxia offers a veterinary record on top of its measurements. Phoenix notably provides a record and walk tracking.
Equipping a cat or a small dog
Check total weight, bulk, attachment and collar safety. This guide mainly compares offers for dogs: DOG 6 is no substitute for a comparison of Tractive’s CAT models. The Biotracker is intended for dogs.
Prices excluding promotions: what you are buying
Direct prices in euros including VAT, with no code, newsletter discount, multi-buy reduction or launch bundle. Periods included in the offers checked are kept and identified. A public price observed is not a guarantee of the price at the next renewal.
| Model | Hardware only / edition | Service offered and actual payment |
|---|---|---|
| Phoenix Graphite & Rouge | €120 | 4G included for 12 months, then €29.90 a year, renewed automatically and cancellable at any time (about €2.49 a month as an equivalent: there is no monthly billing). 1 |
| Phoenix Noir & Champagne | €220 | 4G included, with no annual renewal, for as long as the device works, in France and the European Union. 1, 3 |
| Weenect XS | €44.99 | €14 a month with no commitment; €90 once a year; €120 once every 2 years; €250 once every 5 years. Each tracker has its own subscription. 4 |
| Tractive DOG 6 | €69 | Basic: €14.50 a month; €90 a year; €120 every 2 years. Premium: €102 a year; €144 every 2 years; €300 every 5 years. Excluding Care. Basis: France product page. 10 |
| Invoxia Biotracker 2026 | €119 | Basic free with no remote GPS; Plus €89.90/year with no remote GPS; Max GPS: €129.95/year on the product page, €129.90 in the help centre. Discrepancy flagged, not hidden. 15, 14, 16 |
| PAJ PET Finder 4G Mini | €58.99 | 3 months of Premium included. Basic: €12 a month; €84 a year; €120 every 2 years. Premium: €60 every 6 months; €96 a year; €144 every 2 years. 18, 19 |
What is excluded: promotions visible on 1 November 2026 — Bixar: −20% from two items in the basket; Weenect: −30% on the first order via the newsletter and −5% on the pack’s 1-year subscription; PAJ: “Valentine’s Day” banner with no amount and PAJ LIGHT Mini free; Tractive: no discount visible on the list price —, the Invoxia launch bundle (checked on 30 October 2026) and optional insurance. Delivery charges and extra accessories must be added if they are charged.
What you commit to paying, and when
| Model | What the official page shows | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Phoenix | Graphite: 4G included for 12 months, then €29.90 a year, renewed automatically, cancellable at any time. Noir & Champagne: no annual renewal. 2-year legal guarantee of conformity. | 1, 3 |
| Weenect XS | Plans of 1, 2 or 5 years paid in one go (“once a year”, “once every two years”, “once every five years”). Terms and conditions: automatic renewal at the end of each period, cancellable at any time before the end via the website or the app (art. 7.3); 30-day money-back guarantee on the subscription if the tracker has been used for less than 3 days in total (art. 7.4). | 4, 5 |
| Tractive DOG 6 | Plans paid in one go for the period (“Payment of €90 every year”, “€120 every 2 years”, “€300 every 5 years”); 30-day money-back guarantee. Renewal and cancellation terms: not checked. | 10 |
| PAJ Mini | Plans billed per period (“€84 billed”, “€120 billed every 2 years”, “€60 billed every 6 months”). Renewal and cancellation terms: not checked. | 19 |
Why can Tractive show €90 and €114 for one year?
The page’s code distinguishes the base price and the price with Care: €90/114 for Basic, €102/126 for Premium. These pairs are not a promotion. Care adds conditional protection against certain damage, loss or theft. We do not include it. The general pricing page also shows other figures; the product page with France as the country is the calculation reference used here. The amount applicable to your account and country remains the one confirmed before you subscribe.
How much will you pay over 1, 2, 3 or 5 years?
One device kept, continuous service, constant prices, excluding options and delivery. We add up the sums needed to cover the period: no notional refund or pro rata. The fifth year stops at 60 months; a renewal for the sixth is not counted.
If you renew every year
| Offer | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix Graphite | €120.00 | €149.90 | €179.80 | €239.60 |
| Phoenix Champagne | €220.00 | €220.00 | €220.00 | €220.00 |
| Weenect XS | €134.99 | €224.99 | €314.99 | €494.99 |
| Tractive DOG 6 Basic | €159.00 | €249.00 | €339.00 | €519.00 |
| Tractive DOG 6 Premium | €171.00 | €273.00 | €375.00 | €579.00 |
| Invoxia 2026 Max GPS | €248.95 | €378.90 | €508.85 | €768.75 |
| PAJ Mini Basic | €142.99 | €226.99 | €310.99 | €478.99 |
| PAJ Mini Premium | €154.99 | €250.99 | €346.99 | €538.99 |
Note on PAJ: after the 3 included months, the first annual payment funds 12 full months: at the one-year mark, 15 months have been funded. The other columns fund 27, 39 and 63 months. The extra period is not notionally refunded in our calculation.
Note on Invoxia: calculated with the product page price, €129.95/year. With the help centre’s €129.90, the totals would be €248.90, €378.80, €508.70 and €768.50. These are two documentary bases, not two separately identified subscriptions.
If you choose long commitments
These are standard subscriptions, not promotional codes. The following amounts combine the published durations to cover each term at the lowest cost among the plans selected. This is a projection at constant prices; it assumes you adjust the duration at renewal. Weenect explicitly documents changing at renewal. For the others, check the terms before relying on a future combination. 7
| Offer | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years | 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix Graphite | €120.00 | €149.90 | €179.80 | €239.60 |
| Phoenix Champagne | €220.00 | €220.00 | €220.00 | €220.00 |
| Weenect XS | €134.99 | €164.99 | €254.99 | €294.99 |
| Tractive DOG 6 Basic | €159.00 | €189.00 | €279.00 | €399.00 |
| Tractive DOG 6 Premium | €171.00 | €213.00 | €315.00 | €369.00 |
| Invoxia 2026 Max GPS | €248.95 | €378.90 | €508.85 | €768.75 |
| PAJ Mini Basic | €142.99 | €178.99 | €262.99 | €382.99 |
| PAJ Mini Premium | €154.99 | €202.99 | €298.99 | €442.99 |
Weenect example over 3 years: 44.99 + 120 (2 years) + 90 (1 year) = €254.99. Over 5 years: 44.99 + 250 = €294.99, paid upfront. Tractive Premium over 5 years: 69 + 300 = €369. With PAJ Basic over 3 years: 58.99 + 120 + 84 = €262.99, covering 39 months.
Simulate your duration and payment
Breaking down the plans avoids confusing an average monthly cost with a monthly direct debit.
| Offer | Total | Service periods |
|---|---|---|
| Phoenix Graphite | €179.80 | 12 months included + 12 + 12 months paid; 36 months covered |
| Phoenix Champagne | €220.00 | 4G with no annual renewal |
| Weenect XS | €314.99 | 12 + 12 + 12 months paid; 36 months covered |
| Tractive DOG 6 Basic | €339.00 | 12 + 12 + 12 months paid; 36 months covered |
| Tractive DOG 6 Premium | €375.00 | 12 + 12 + 12 months paid; 36 months covered |
| Invoxia 2026 Max GPS | €508.85 | 12 + 12 + 12 months paid; 36 months covered |
| PAJ Mini Basic | €310.99 | 3 months included + 12 + 12 + 12 months paid; 39 months covered |
| PAJ Mini Premium | €346.99 | 3 months included + 12 + 12 + 12 months paid; 39 months covered |
When does Champagne become cheaper than Graphite?
At purchase, Champagne costs €100 more. Graphite reaches €209.70 for four years and €239.60 for five years, compared with €220 for Champagne. In this scenario, the tipping point comes with the fifth year’s payment. This does not guarantee the device’s lifespan.
For short or uncertain use, prepaying five years may be less worthwhile despite a lower advertised monthly cost. For long-term use, comparing only annual subscriptions overestimates the cost of some competitors.
Features: what changes how you use it
“Available” describes an advertised feature, not a measured performance. “Not confirmed” does not mean absent. The five solutions do not offer the same entitlements depending on their subscription.
| Need | Phoenix | Weenect XS | Tractive DOG 6 | Invoxia 2026 | PAJ Mini |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remote tracking | Included with the edition’s connectivity | Active subscription | Basic or Premium | Max GPS only | Lite, Basic or Premium |
| Alert when leaving a zone | Safe zones with alerts | “Custom safe zones with alerts” | “Virtual fences” and “escape alerts” | Max GPS | “Geofence alert” (Basic and Premium; not Lite) |
| Remote coverage | France and the European Union included; outside the European Union, information on request at bixar@bixar.co | More than 170 countries advertised, depending on network | More than 175 countries advertised | More than 30 countries advertised, depending on LTE-M network and plan (checked on 30 October) | Europe, pre-installed SIM card |
| GPS history | 365 days | History advertised, duration not stated | 24 h Basic; 365 days Premium | 7 days on Basic; extended history depending on plan, remote GPS Max | 3 days Basic; 365 days Premium |
| Activity / sleep | Walks and activity; sleep not stated | Activity tracking mentioned; sleep not stated | “Activity and sleep monitor” | Activity and sleep | Steps, calories, active minutes (Basic and Premium); sleep not stated |
| Heart / respiratory measurements | No measurement of this kind advertised | Not stated | Advertised at rest | Advertised at rest | “Vital monitor”, general mention without detail |
| Health record / documents / vet | Digital health record included; sharing with the vet | Not stated | Not stated | Record on Basic; vet invitation; document scanning from Plus | Position can be shared with the vet |
| Sound / light | Remote ringing and light | Ringing, vibration, torch | Sound and LED | Sound/light recall features not confirmed | Sound recall; separate PAJ LIGHT Mini light included in the offer checked |
| Sharing | Health record can be shared with the vet | “Share the account with your loved ones” | “Tracker sharing” (Premium) | Vet access; GPS family sharing to be checked | Position can be shared with family, dog-sitter and vet |
Feature sources: 1, 2, 4, 8, 11, 16, 17, 18
A health record is not a health sensor
A health record brings together documents, observations and due dates. Sensors can estimate certain vital signs and changes. Phoenix offers the first type of service; Tractive and Invoxia also document physiological measurements. With Phoenix, you gather your animal’s documents and information and can share them with your vet. Invoxia also pairs a health record with its physiological measurements. The choice therefore depends on what you want to track: its documents, its daily habits or certain vital signs at rest.
The Bixar QR/NFC medallion is a complementary product
The medallion is sold separately: it should not be counted as a hardware accessory included with each GPS. It is used to open a profile and contact the owner after the animal is found; it does not itself transmit a GPS position. The digital health record available in the ecosystem and the physical medallion are two separate things. See the medallion.
Technical: weight, location and battery life
| Model | Size / protection | Transmission | Update rate in fast mode |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix | 32 g; IP67; collar supplied in S/M/L | 4G; GPS position. Module details to be confirmed. | Active tracking mode; numerical interval not confirmed for this version. |
| Weenect XS | 27 g; 60.5 × 24.5 × 15 mm; IP68 | Multi-network cellular; four constellations advertised | Superlive advertised at up to one position per second. |
| Tractive DOG 6 | 39 g; 71 × 29 × 17 mm; IP68 | LTE/4G Cat1bis according to the current spec sheet; Bluetooth 5.0 and Wi-Fi; GPS/GLONASS/Galileo | LIVE advertised every 2–3 seconds. |
| Biotracker 2026 | 37 g; 59 × 30 × 23 mm; IP67 | LTE-M, Bluetooth 5.3, Wi-Fi; GPS | Max GPS: one second when moving; 30-min session that can be extended. |
| PAJ Mini | 33.1 g; 51 × 33.16 × 17 mm without mount; IP67 | 4G with SIM; Bluetooth; Europe advertised | Live tracking; exact update rate not confirmed. |
Hardware sources: 1, 4, 9, 10, 13, 15, 14, 18
| Model | Maximum stated battery life | Conditions worth knowing |
|---|---|---|
| Phoenix | Up to 21 days in Power saving mode; up to 7 days at an intermediate update rate | Maximums observed during Bixar’s internal tests, not certified by a third party and not guaranteed. Battery life in LIVE mode is not disclosed until it has been measured. A full recharge is stated to take about 20 minutes. |
| Weenect XS | Up to 7 days | With power-saving zones; about 2 days of continuous tracking according to the spec sheet. |
| Tractive DOG 6 | Up to 14 days | With power-saving zones; up to 6 days without zones, which does not mean 6 days of permanent LIVE. |
| Biotracker 2026 | A few days to about 15 days | Varies with use; full charge stated at about 2 h. |
| PAJ Mini | Up to 10 days in power-saving mode | Spec sheet: 4–6 days in mixed use, 1–2 days continuous. The FAQ also gives 1–3 days in active use; conditions not identical. |
Battery life sources: 1, 4, 12, 15, 18
One second does not mean one metre
The update rate indicates how often a position can be updated. Accuracy describes the gap between the position shown and the actual position. A fast link can transmit an incorrect measurement, and a correct measurement can arrive late. Number of constellations, network and software all contribute to how it works; none of these elements, on its own, proves superiority in the field.
In the forest, in the mountains and in town
The GPS has to receive the satellites; the modem has to transmit; your phone has to receive the information. Buildings, dense foliage, terrain, indoors and weak network can degrade any one of these links. With no mobile network, do not count on immediate remote transmission. “Unlimited range” does not mean coverage on every path.
Waterproof does not mean locatable underwater
IP ratings correspond to manufacturer tests and conditions. They do not guarantee use at any depth or in every liquid. The GPS does not track an animal underwater as it does on the surface. Read the instructions for rinsing, drying and recharging after a swim.
Which model suits your daily life?
- Bixar Phoenix
To find your animal and keep its daily life in one place
Strengths: choice between a first year of 4G included and 4G included with no annual renewal, a moderate annual renewal, collar supplied, digital health record included and vet access.
To bear in mind: higher upfront cost than the XS or the PAJ; IP67 waterproofing (some competitors are IP68); battery life from internal tests. Also compare the amount paid upfront and the conditions of the included connectivity.
- Weenect XS
For a small format and recall
Strengths: light, fast Superlive advertised, ringing and vibration. A five-year commitment that costs significantly less than five annual payments.
To bear in mind: subscription required, more frequent charging with continuous tracking, upfront payment for long plans. Ringing and vibration do not guarantee that the animal will come back.
- Tractive DOG 6
To add well-being indicators
Strengths: activity, sleep, physiological indicators; remote tracking and zones. Premium notably adds dedicated family sharing and long history.
To bear in mind: 39 g and recommended for dogs from 4 kg; choose a CAT model to compare use on a cat. Do not confuse subscription, Care option and equivalent monthly price.
- Invoxia Biotracker 2026
For physiological and veterinary monitoring
Strengths: measurements at rest, health record and collaboration with the vet; free plan for basic health features.
To bear in mind: Basic and Plus do not let you find a runaway dog remotely. Max GPS increases the cost; one-second interval specific to the 2026 edition. The price used and its source are specified in the price table.
- PAJ PET Finder 4G Mini
To choose your level of service
Strengths: affordable hardware cost; choice of plans; Bluetooth to save power when nearby; separate light in the offer.
To bear in mind: Lite does not include Basic’s alerts according to the FAQ; advanced features and data retention depend on the plan. Maximum battery life not representative of continuous tracking.
The right choice depends on your priorities: budget, size, tracking outings or health information. Check the app on your phone, the attachment on your animal and the coverage in the places where you actually plan to use it.
Your check before buying
- Measure the collar and check the total weight when fitted.
- Check coverage where you go out and at your destinations.
- Choose the features you need, then the plan that includes them.
- Look at the amount charged today, not just its monthly equivalent.
- Read the terms for renewal, returns, replacement and end of service.
- Test alerts and accuracy in your surroundings during the applicable return period.
Discover the two Phoenix editions · Read the guide to choosing a GPS · The cat GPS collar · GPS without a subscription: what it means
Sources and verification method
Last checked: 1 November 2026 for Phoenix, Weenect, Tractive and PAJ; Invoxia: checked on 30 October 2026, not updated. Brand websites and help centres only. Reading of public pages and, where necessary, their structured data and HTML to distinguish options, prices and variants. No competing tracker was bought or activated. The terms offered at activation may depend on the country and the account. Future costs remain projections, even when the arithmetic is exact.
- Bixar Phoenix — offer and features
- Bixar — app, health record and medallion
- Bixar — terms of sale
- Weenect XS — product, spec sheet and subscriptions
- Weenect — terms and conditions of sale and use
- Weenect — subscriptions
- Weenect — changing duration at renewal
- Weenect — app features
- Weenect — Superlive update rate
- Tractive DOG 6 — prices, plans and spec sheet
- Tractive — Basic/Premium differences
- Tractive — battery life by model
- Tractive — IP68 protection
- Invoxia Biotracker — features and annual price
- Invoxia — spec sheet and 2026 hardware price
- Invoxia — plans and launch offer
- Invoxia — health record and vet access
- PAJ PET Finder 4G Mini — price, spec sheet and FAQ
- PAJ — subscription plans
The brands mentioned belong to their respective owners. This comparison is not an independent certification nor a promise of identical performance everywhere. Prices change: consult the sources and the contractual summary before paying.

Bixar 4G GPS
Discover the Bixar 4G GPS
Live position, safe zones, history and walks in the Bixar app. Two editions, 4G subscription included.
Discover the 4G GPS